Felony is really a serious crime as compared to the misdemeanor. Also, there are total six different classes which describe the case of felonies. However, it also depends on the severity of the crime charged and the culprit’s as well. Though, the punishment of the felony class can be provided by the judicial system as well as the state system of court. In Virginia, the felony is just starting from the class 1 felony in where the culprit may go through such a severe and dangerous penalty for up to life imprisonment.
Although, the class 6 felony is considered as the least serious crime in where the person may go through with fine charges for up to $2,500 and prison for up to 5 years or less than that. Though, it all depends on the severity of the crime, if the charge of class 6 felony is filed with the physical abuse or deep physical wounds of the victim, the offender may go through imprison for up to years.
Though, if you have been charged with the class 6 felony, you need to about the circumstances of class 6 felony. Any individual can easily be convicted of class 6 felony if the person has commanded in involving drugs for own use, felony DUI, and aggravated crime. However, if this is your first-time offense of class 6 felony, you may still go through penalties like fines and imprison. It’s all about the intensity of the crime, it doesn’t matter if it’s your first time or not, if your crime is severe enough with the charge of class 6 felony, you may still go through penalties.
Penalties of class 6 felony:
As we know that the class 6 felony is considered as the least serious crime and its penalties are also not serious enough as compared to other felonies. But it should be understood by the people that the charges of the felony can make you a criminal, and you may find a type of criminal record in all of your documents, etc.
However, the penalties of the class 6 felony are imprisonment for up to 1-5years along with a fine of $2,500. Though, if the offender is committed the crime for the first time, he/she may still have to imprison for at least 12months to up to 1 year with a fine of $2,500.
Though, class 6 and class 5 felony are considered as wobblers. This simply means that the penalty would be depending on the condition of the crime and how the legal system handles the accused, even though, these least kinds of felonies can also be known as a misdemeanor.
felony defense lawyer in Virginia
When you committed a crime, which is charged as a class 6 felony, but you attempted the crime for the first time, then the chances are, you may go through imprison for up to 12month to 1 year with a fine as well. But the penalty would be depended on the situation and intensity of the crime.
To secure yourself from such crimes, you need to hire a lawyer for your defense.