If you are charged or accused of trying to evade an officer, you can expect a judge to require you to explain yourself in court. Law enforcement officers behave like bailiffs, and it doesn’t look good for someone who respects their authority.
If you are convicted of these charges, you will face severe penalties that could have far-reaching consequences for your driving privileges. Read on to learn more about how to avoid being charged by an officer before you call a ruthless Fairfax lawyer or make an appointment for a consultation to discuss your case.
If you continue to drive after you have been ordered to stop and try to escape or evade an officer by other means, whether on foot or in the car, you will be charged with evading the officer, which is a Class 2 misdemeanor. If you kill a police officer while trying to persecute someone who is trying to evade you, you will be charged as a Class 4 felon. In Virginia, you have to listen to the license plate of the stopped vehicle. The defense may charge you with a Class 6 offence if, in addition, the driver or operation of your car disturbs or endangers the person or police vehicle.
If a driver can prove that he has left the motorway to find a safe place to overtake, and then an officer is waiting for him to get off, it is considered an attempt to evade the officer. By contrast, someone leaving a highway to see if officers are tracking their speed may well be charged with attempted evasion by police officers.
If you need to drive a bit to find a safe place to overtake, it is best to put yourself in danger to show the officer that you can see them and try to follow the signal. If you do not acknowledge the policeman at all, this can be misinterpreted as an attempt to evade them. That depends on what specific measures are taken.
The driver must first receive a visible or audible signal to stop the vehicle. Secondly, he must try to escape or evade the officer on foot, by vehicle or by other means. Thirdly, if he wants to disregard them, he cannot operate a vehicle in the presence of an official.
You may have been charged with attempting to evade an officer in Virginia. Virginia law requires someone with a conviction of 30 days to a year to lose their driver’s license if the driver’s speed was exceeded at the time of the violation. The ban is at least 90 days if the speed was excessive. If you can prove it, the suspension will continue for some time.
Virginia, which tries to evade an officer’s lawyer, can help you explain your actions to the judge in a way that does not indicate that you are considered guilty. Your lawyer can also help reduce the charge, hopefully with a less harsh result. If you have a valid reason for your conduct, your lawyer can have your charges dismissed. In the courtroom, trying to evade an officer’s lawyer in Virginia can also give someone a better understanding of what happens when you come to court and what the indictment means. There is a difference between trying to evade an officer and persecuting someone who you believe is not a police officer, or whether you can prove this in court.