A society of people who follow and obey law results in a peaceful, prosperous society, otherwise it just would be mess and chaos everywhere. The state of Virginia has set some laws and rules which every citizen must obey otherwise they would face serious consequences, and our legislation makes sure of that. Ownership of illegal, harmful substances is a felony and people should avoid it any cost otherwise they are to face serious consequences.
Many people who are in charge of owning a controlled substance also fight against substance abuse. The Virginia court system provides an alternative option to the traditional sentence for people who meet certain criteria. Drug treatment courts have become increasingly frequent throughout the state. These specialty courts make it possible to reduce sentences for defendants willing to participate and continue with rehabilitation programs.
Substance possession ” refers to the crime of possessing a controlled substance with or without the intention of distributing it. When it comes to possession, the amount of drugs in your possession does not matter as much as the type.
Generally speaking, Virginia penalizes possession based on the type of drug with which he was arrested.
Charges for Substance Possession:
Ownership of either a Schedule 1 (§ 54.1-3446) or a Schedule 2 (§ 54.1-3448) substance is a class 5 felony.
However, the state may choose to charge certain class 5 offenses as class 1 misdemeanors, especially if it is their first offense.
Owing to a Schedule 3 (§ 54.1-3450) the drug is a class 1 misdemeanor. LSD, ketamine, and other high-risk sedatives are listed as drugs in program 3.
Possessing a Schedule 4 (§ 54.1-3452) the drug is a class 2 misdemeanor. High-risk medications and narcotics are included in the list of drugs in program 4.
Ownership of an Agenda 5 (§ 54.1-3454) drug is a Class 3 misdemeanor. The drugs in program 5 include many prescription medications, such as painkillers.
Ownership of a Schedule 6 (§ 54.1-3455) the drug is a class 4 misdemeanor. The drugs in program 6 are prescription drugs such as antidepressants and drugs for ADHD.
Consequences for Substance possession:
The maximum castigation for class 5 felony is a $ 2,500 fine and a ten-year prison sentence. The maximum punishment for a class 1 misdemeanor is a fine of $ 2,500 and up to one year behind bars. Their maximum castigation for class 2 misdemeanor is a fine of $ 1,000 and six months of captivity. Punishment for class 3 misdemeanor is a fine of up to $ 500. Castigation for class 4 misdemeanor is a fine of up to $ 250.
Virginia Marijuana Laws:
Medical and recreational marijuana is banned in Virginia, and an offender without a criminal record, guilty of possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana, could receive 30 days in prison and a $ 500 fine.