Misdemeanors are divided into a form of classes, and Class 1 is considered the most serious, even though, the most common class as well. However, we can also be considered as the lowest form of felonies or even the less serious kind of felonies. Although, it doesn’t matter if the victim got hurt physically or not in misdemeanor charges. The police will arrest the person who is involved in the case of breaking traffic laws as well. So, people should have to understand the laws of Virginia and try to stay active while driving to avoid such misdemeanor charges in the future as well.
class 1 misdemeanor charges and penalties in Virginia
The charges by which you can be charged with the class 1 misdemeanor involved:
Driving Under Influence: If a person is pulling out from the car and the blood alcohol content is bring out to be 0.08 or even the greater of this, the person might be charged with the DUI in a class of 1 misdemeanor. Also, if a person being caught while using some kind of drug material in a meanwhile of driving, he or she will also be charged in the class 1 misdemeanor.
Reckless Driving: Any person can be charged with the class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, if he or she has been involved in reckless driving, means the speed is over according to the miles, then there is a chance the person might be arrested in the charged of a misdemeanor.
Domestic Violence: Any person can be arrested with the charged of class 1 misdemeanor if he or she is involved with domestic violence against a family member. It doesn’t matter wheater the member is injured physically or not, the offender might be getting arrested due to threatening the people.
Petit Larceny: The theft of money, goods, and other expensive property, such as shoplifting. The person might be arrested in such case just if the value of stolen items is not more than $200. If the value of the items is more than $200, then the charged would be converted into a felony.
Simple Assault and Battery: Assault and battery are two kinds of separated charges and crimes. In assault cases, an offender trying to hurt or injured someone intentionally. However, in the act of battery, the offender might be involving to hurt someone physically.
However, these are the charges in where you can be arrested with the class 1 misdemeanor. Also, the penalties of the class 1 misdemeanor are included: 12 months stay in jail along with a fine of $2,500.
a defense lawyer for class 1 misdemeanor in VA
Although, if you ever been charged with the class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, then probably it’s a time to talk with a professional attorney. A professional attorney can easily solve out your case and provide you with lots of other legal pieces of advice which will be a benefit for you in the future.